Alone time

To be quite honest……I get a lot of alone time.  I know what you’re thinking…..you’re a stay at home mom with neither kid in full time school….how do you get time alone?  That is very true……but many nights after the kids go to bed I am alone.  John travels ALOT.  Usually 3-4 nights out of the week.  This leaves me with a lot of time at night to myself.  I have always been the type of person who likes to by alone now and again.  When I travel with John he laughs at me because sometimes I never leave the hotel room.  That is because it is nice to just sit still with yourself.  I have come to really appreciate this time.  It’s a time to sit and gather thoughts….. read……be creative……or take a bath.  I have realized that in this time I have been spending WAY too much time watching tv.  So….here recently I have started turning off the tv and doing something creative with my time.  I have loved blogging……but I have also been working on projects.  I have tried to take a negative (John traveling so much) and turn it into a positive (I get to work on me a little bit.)  I think it has also really helped my relationship with God.  You know a relationship is only as good as the effort you put into it.  So……I am now putting in the effort.  I am desperately seeking.  I am waiting and listening to what it is God wants to do with me.  Ever since Haiti I have had a feeling God was going to call me in some way to something big…..I am now just to see what it is.  My ears and my heart is open.

All this to say I like to be alone every once in a while…….it sure makes the nights together that much sweeter.  John…..can’t wait for you to get home tomorrow!!  I love you!

What do you like to do with your alone time?

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    John Gayhart said,

    I know God is going to call you to something big, and I can’t wait to see what it is. It is important to prepare our hearts for it while waiting, because when he calls, it’s going to stretch our hearts and our faith.

  2. 2

    i have been watching too much tv too. but if you ask me what i watch i don’t really have an answer … HGTV mostly!

    i love your creativness and you are right … god is going to use that lots in this year i can jst feel it!
    :)jamie


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment