Haiti – Day 2

more rescue center funbubble fun at the rescue centerme on the charcoal beachoutside view of feeding centerfeeding centerThe food we were able to buy with the money we collected before we left home.

“We walked the local village with Robinson.  He was born and raised in the village.  Children ran up to us in droves.  They just wanted to walk with us and hold our hands.  Some were hoping that we would give them gum or shampoo.  Modesty in Haiti does not exist.  Little kids will just stand in front of their house completely naked.  At first it was hard for me to look.  I felt like I should not be looking….like it was wrong.  As time went on it was like I did not even notice it.  I don’t know if it was numbness or acceptance.  The children seemed so happy for us to be there, but the women in the cillage seemed almost disgusted that we were walking through their village.  It was probably the way I was feeling abotu myself……like how dare I invade their lifestyle.  I felt like they knew we would be leaving in a week and going back to our house that have running water and air conditioning.  Again maybe this was me feeling disgusted in myself.

We spent time at the dam and the river.  This is truly the village lifeline.  This is where they swim, take baths, wash clothese, wash dishes and gather water for their families to drink.”

Skipping some thoughts for the sake of time.

“Then we were off to deliver some food to an orphanage in Bercy.  We were able to take them four bag of rice and four bags of beans.  Rusty….the orphanage director said that the amount of food we brought would last them about 2 1/2 weeks.  I had mixed emotions while I was at this orphanage.  It was very very dirty.  There were 40 kids there ranging from 1-17.  I think my feelings were mixed because the majority of these kids were not able to be adopted.  They will live their entire life at this place.  Will their lives be fulfilling…..or simple trying to survive?  Again the kids just wanted to be held.  Most of them were not wearing any pants……and of course they wanted to sit on our laps.  Rusty and Cheryl are doing everything they possibly can at this place with the money they have been given……but is it enough?

I love hanging out with all the people on our team.  It seems like everyone of them mhas a ministry…..what is my ministry?

Again, what am I suppose to take from this?  How will I respond?  How will I be called to act?  What can I teach my children?

OK……so today I feel thankful.  I will never complain about not having living room furniture.  I will never gripe about having to take my kids with me to the grocery store.  All of these things are a privilege.

Thank you God for what you have entrusted me with……teach me to walk like Jesus.”

 

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    love seeing your thoughts.
    :)jamie


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment